Go to FastAd#:

NCHA photo

Gavin Jordan of Wilton receives his NCHA Hall Of Fame Open Rider award from Chubby Turner, 2009-10 NCHA President.

FORT WORTH, Texas – Gavin Jordan of Wilton and David Costello of Paso Robles were honored for their cutting prowess June 20, as the National Cutting Horse Association inducted the Californians into its Open Rider Hall Of Fame.

The ceremony was part of the NCHA Annual Convention held June 18-20 at the Hilton DFW in Grapevine, Texas. Entry in the NCHA Open Rider Hall Of Fame is based on earnings of more than $1 million or by winning a combination of designated events. Joining Jordan and Costello were three other riders, including Zeke Entz of Collierville, Tenn., Sean Flynn of Weatherford, Texas, and Lee Francois of Murchison, Texas.

New inductees to the NCHA Members Hall of Fame included Judy Burton Armstrong, of Gladewater, Texas; Bobby Cook, of Port Allen, La.; Carolyn Crist, of Fort Worth, Texas; Don Neuenschwander, of Houston, Texas; Dave Robson, of Calgary, Alberta; and Mike Wells, of Houston, Texas.

The NCHA’s “Affiliate of the Year” award, recognizing an outstanding organization based on entries at the affiliate’s shows, innovations, awards and sponsorships, went to Western States Cutting Horse Association. Gail Holmes and Dan Stroh were in attendance to accept an official NCHA trophy on behalf of Western States.

A special recognition by the American Quarter Horse Association, which recognizes the top breeding horses based on money earned by their offspring in NCHA competition during the calendar year, also took place. Chers Shadow was the 2009 leading dam, and co-owner Lindy Burch of Oxbow Ranch accepted the award. Cat Ichi earned the 2009 leading freshman sire trophy, and Guy Woods accepted the trophy on behalf of Jo Ellard, EE Ranches. High Brow Cat took home his seventh leading sire award, with Jack Waggoner, Waggoner Ranches, accepting the award.

Cutting horses are inducted into the NCHA Hall of Fame based on their earnings or by winning at least two designated major events or World Championships. This year’s inductees include Hydrive Cat, owned by Shane and Jane Plummer of Fort Worth, Texas; Metallic Cat, owned by Alvin and Becky Fults of Amarillo, Texas; Oh Cay Felix, owned by Patrick and Laura Collins of Lincoln, Ill.; Our Little Dyno, owned by Jeffrey and Margaret McCoy of Weatherford, Texas; and Third Cutting, owned by Carl and Shawnea Smith of Jacksboro, Texas.

Non-Professionals are inducted into the NCHA Hall of Fame based on earnings or on having won a combination of designated events. Five non-pros this year include Lindy Ashlock, Baird, Texas; Spunky Hawkins, Morton, Miss.; Billy Martin, Millsap, Texas; Lach Perks, Rockford, Ill.; and Stacy Shepard, Summerdale, Ala.

The NCHA also filled its slate of new 2010-11 officers during the weekend. Former Temecula, now-Weatherford trainer Chris Benedict will serve as NCHA President for the next year, taking over for another former Californian who moved to Weatherford, Chubby Turner. President-elect Keith Deaville, of Covington, La., is next in line for the presidency and will take the position at the 2011 convention.

The National Cutting Horse Association has more than 20,000 members from a wide range of backgrounds. Each year more than 2,200 NCHA-approved events are held throughout North America, with more than $43 million in prize money awarded.

Leave a Comment

All fields must be filled in to leave a message.