Go to FastAd#:

HITS hits it

Both amateur, open jumpers start year in high gear

Special to the Horsetrader - February 4th, 2016 - Show & Event News

THERMAL — A new year dawned at the HITS Desert Circuit, and both open and amateur jumpers looked sharp with the start of the big winter series.
The $15,000 UltrOZ™ Jumper class on Saturday and the $10,000 Junior/A-O Jumper Classic on Sunday at Desert Circuit I gave an indication of the intensity and competitiveness these riders have for their unfolding 2016 seasons.

In the $15,000 UltrOZ™ Jumper class, 19 entries navigated the 14-fence course by Olaf Petersen, Jr., and seven advanced to the shortened jump-off where Jill Prieto of Petaluma and Carlton Cafe, owned by Freestyling Farms, claimed the $4,500 prize in a fault-free 39.114 seconds. Susie Hutchison and SIG Firecracker, owned by SIG International, took second in 40.145 — her third top-three finish of the first week, after winning first- and second-place in the $5,000 Brook Ledge Open Welcome on Wednesday.

In third place was Laura Hite of Coto De Caza on her own Solos Consept, finsihing the 1.45-meter course fault-free in 43.409. Kristin Hardin of New Cuyama took fourth aboard Bert, owned by Emily Cohodes, after a 37.621 finish that included four faults.

On Sunday, amateur jumpers tested a challenging 15-fence course for a shot at $10,000 in prize money in the Jr/A-O Jumper Classic. Setting the tone for the class was eventual winner Morgan Garnett of Hillborough riding Kenavo de Brekka, owned by Garnett Farms. They were the lone entry to complete the course fault-free, with a time of 82.106 seconds.

Saree Kayne secured second- and third-place. Kayne piloted W Zermie 13, owned by Woodacres Stables, LLC, to the second-place finish, crossing the timers in 86.870, earning one time fault. The equestrian from Santa Monica, rode Rexar Du Houssoit, also owned by Woodacres Stables, to third-place with a time of 86.905 seconds, finishing with four jumping faults and one time fault. For her efforts she received a $2,000 prize and a $1,400 prize, respectfully.
In fourth-place was Vani Khosla of Portola Valley on Dynamo. Khosla and Dynamo passed the timers in 90.332 seconds, resulting in five time faults, to earn $1,000.
MORE ONLINE: Http://bit.ly/602A_HITS

Leave a Comment

All fields must be filled in to leave a message.