Go to FastAd#:

Year of Challenge

- December 31st, 2020 - Show & Event News

With its L.A. home locked down, CRHA moves to desert for 2020

From Horsetrader staff reports

Karleigh Farmer and Roocat, owned by Stephen Silver of Temecula, captured the Challenge Limited Open with a 70.5 and the Novice Horse Open with a 71. (Mark Blakley photo)

THERMAL — A year that started out of the chute in Los Angeles with lots of potential wrapped up 150 miles away in the desert Oct. 20-25 with some terrific runs, as the California Reining Horse Association closed its 2020 season at the Challenge.

Desert International Horse Park hosted the year-end event after authorities continued their suspension of public events in Los Angeles County for public health reasons amid COVID-19 concerns. The Los Angeles Equestrian Center in Burbank, which had hosted the pre-pandemic CRHA Sweetheart Reining on Jan. 31-Feb. 2 is the longtime home of the Challenge.

There were many outstanding performances to highlight the event, and year-end CRHA standings were at play.

Atop the final CRHA Open Division standings were Tom Foran and Rey Town, followed by Krisi Berg and Hes Smart With A Gun in reserve. Berg and Smart With A Gun were the Limited Open frontrunners, ahead of Karleigh Farmer and Roocat, the Novice Horse Open winners. Foran and Candy O were reserve champions in the Novice Horse Open.

Carolyn Tachovsky and Diamonds In My Dreams finished on top in Non Pro, Limited Non Pro, Intermediate Non Pro, and Prime Time Non Pro, ahead of Brenda Joyce on Wimpys High Bid in Non Pro, Kelly Tillman on Magnumatic in Limited Non Pro, and Brenda Joyce on Wimpys High Bid in both Intermediate Non Pro and Prime Time Non Pro. In the Novice Horse Non Pro, Tachovsky and Diamonds In My Dreams finished second to Jeanne Rosenberg on Some Kind Of Smart.

In the Rookie Division, Tachovsky and Diamonds In My Mind took the Prime Time and Level 2 titles ahead of Kelley Cooper on Dough For It and Emma Dillon on WheresMySparkinSpots, respectively, and Dillon and WheresMySparkinSpots took the Rookie L1 spot ahead of Anne Henry on Custom Tag Chex.

Dillon also won the Youth 14-18 title on WheresMySparkinSpots ahead of reserve Rachel Tillman on Benjamin Sprite. The Youth 13-under winner was Peyton McGowan on Smith N Whizzen, who finished ahead of Travis Bentley on Spooks R Out Tonite.

More online: https://bit.ly/2101crha

Leave a Comment

All fields must be filled in to leave a message.